First time at the European level

3 July 2014

A new world opened up this week for three of our four Members of the European Parliament. They set off for the first time to the French city of Strasbourg for the inaugural meeting of the newly elected European Parliament.

Mark Demesmaeker, who has already successfully represented the N-VA in the European hemicycle, is now accompanied by European top candidate Johan Van Overtveldt, Helga Stevens and Louis Ide. Together, this team of four will endorse the N-VA programme for Europe with great verve and knowledge for the next five years. We urgently want to achieve a monetary union with increased fiscal discipline, help develop the banking union, deepen the internal market and develop fewer but more effective European laws. At the same time, we fully support European regionalism and defend civil liberties and human rights.

“All these important themes, which we have worked hard on during our campaign, are also discussed in the parliamentary committees on which we sit”, explains delegation leader Johan Van Overtveldt. He is a permanent member of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee and a deputy member of the Industry, Research and Energy Committee. Helga Stevens is a permanent member of the Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee and a deputy member of the Employment and Social Affairs Committee. Mark Demesmaeker continues to serve as a permanent member of the Foreign Affairs Committee and as a deputy member of the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee. And Louis Ide is a permanent member of the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee and a deputy member of the International Trade Committee.

How valuable did you find this article?

Enter your personal score here
The average score is